Performance tables

Performance measures are being reformed.

Key Stage 4

The new accountability system will start from summer 2016 and results will be published for the first time in January 2017.

Four key measures will need to be published by schools on their website in a standard format:

  1. Progress 8, which replaces 5 A*–C
  2. Attainment 8
  3. the percentage of students who achieve a grade C (or grade 5 from 2017) in GCSE Maths and either GCSE English Language or GCSE English Literature. In 2016 only, a C in "combined" English also counts.
  4. the percentage of students who gain the Ebacc. For the English part of the EBacc, a student must study both English Language and English Literature, and achieve at least a C grade in one and a grade in the other. In 2016 only, a C in "combined" English also counts.

See DfE's Ebacc page and list of subjects that count in the performance tables. Only the first entry in each subject counts in the measures.

DfE also publishes a destination measure that shows the percentage of students who move on to further study and employment (including further training) the year after they finish their Key Stage 4 qualifications.

In 2018, DfE will introduce a fifth key measure: the percentage of students who are entered for the EBacc.

Changes to discount codes

DfE has announced changes to discount (classification) codes for qualifications that will count in the 2014 Key Stage 4 performance tables. If two qualifications have the same discount code, only one of them can count in the performance measures.

Key Stage 5 (16–19)

From 2016, these headline measures apply to both schools and colleges:

  • progress
  • attainment
  • retention
  • destinations
  • progress in English and Maths (for students without a GCSE pass at A*–C in these subjects).

Additional performance measures are:

  • Attainment in qualifications below Level 3
  • Achieving at a higher level of learning
  • A-level attainment
  • AAB in facilitating subjects at A-level
  • Attainment of an approved Level 3 Maths qualification ('Core Maths', AS or A-Level, IB L3 maths certificate)
  • TechBacc
  • Substantial vocational qualifications at Level 2
  • Traineeships
  • Supported internships
  • Closing the gap measures