Performance tables

Performance measures at Key Stage 4 are being reformed. The new accountability system will start from summer 2016 and results will be published for the first time in January 2017

What are the changes to performance tables?

  • Four key measures will need to be published by schools on their website in a standard format:
    • students' progress across eight subjects between Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 4. This will show how they have performed and the average of all students' progress will create the school's result. This will be called the Progress 8 measure.
    • the school's average grade across the same suite of eight subjects. This will be called the Attainment 8 measure.
    • the percentage of students achieving a C grade or higher in English and Maths
    • the percentage of students gaining the EBacc, which will continue in its current form.
  • Only the first entry in each subject counts in the measures.
  • There will be a new floor standard which is half a grade below expected Progress 8 average.
  • The DfE is considering a destination measure to show the percentage of students who move on to further study and employment (including further training) during the year after they finish their KS4 qualifications.
  • Approved equivalent qualifications will be included (these are still to be confirmed).

What is Attainment 8?

  • Attainment 8 will measure a school's average grade across the same suite of eight subjects.
  • Grades will be converted into points (the scale is still to be decided but for 2016 it is proposed that A* gets 8 points and G gets 1 point.)
  • The split of the eight subjects is as below:

Core (x2)

EBacc (x3)

Other (x 3)

English Language or Literature* (20%)

EBacc 1(10%)

Other 1 (10%)

Maths (20%)

EBacc 2(10%)

Other 2 (10%)


EBacc 3(10%)

Other 3 (10%)

In June 2016 the GCSE English (4700) qualification will still exist and can count in the English slot, even if separate Lit or Lang qualifications aren't taken. 

For this part of the measure, a school can choose the best 3 of the following subjects:

Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Combined Science**, Computer Science, History, Geography, Languages.

For this part of the measure, a school can choose the best 3 of the following subjects:

English Literature or English Language, other EBacc subjects, Approved non-EBacc subjects.

*English Language and Literature

  • The best of English Language and English Literature will be double weighted, provided a pupil has taken both qualifications.
  • The second best score of English Literature and English Language can be counted in the 'other' group of subjects, if it is one of the pupil's highest scores in this group.

** Combined Science counts for 2 of the 3 EBacc slots

How is Attainment 8 calculated?

You divide by 10 for the average grade. Each qualification is awarded a point (6 qualifications), English and Maths are counted twice (4 qualifications) so 10 is the denominator. 

What is Progress 8?

Progress 8 measures students' progress across eight key subjects between Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 4.

How is Progress 8 calculated?

  • First, each pupil's expected Attainment 8 needs to be calculated
  • Then you can calculate each pupil's Progress 8:
    • Progress 8 = actual Attainment 8 minus expected Attainment 8
    • Presented as average number of grades above/below expectation
    • So a positive Progress 8 score shows more progress than expected.
    • The school average Progress 8 is then calculated. These will be presented in the same way, from all schools.

Here's an example:

  • a student's expected attainment (given their KS2 prior attainment) is 4 grade Bs and 4 grade Cs
  • student's actual attainment is 8 grade Bs
  • student has achieved on average half a grade higher than expectation (as they achieved a total of 4 grades higher across 8 subjects)
  • so student's Progress 8 is 0.5.

Changes to the current performance measures

  • In the 2016 performance measures, English Literature will be equal to English Language. This means that:
    • in the measure showing the percentage of pupils achieving a C grade or better in English and Maths, a pupil would have to achieve a C in either English Literature or English Language to satisfy the English requirement (in 2016, a C in Combined English would be sufficient)
    • in the EBacc measure, a pupil must study both English Language and English Literature, and achieve a C grade or better in at least one of these qualifications, to satisfy the English requirement (in 2016, a C in Combined English would be sufficient).

Subjects in the 2016 performance measures

You can see all of the qualifications included in the 2016 performance measures on the Department for Education website.

Changes to discount codes 

The Department for Education (DfE) has announced changes to the discount (classification) codes for qualifications that will count in the 2014 Key Stage 4 Performance tables. The revised codes and guidance are published on the RAISEonline website.  Please note that there are two different discount codes, one for KS4 and one for post 16. For the 2014, 2015 and 2016 performance tables both these sets of discount codes will be valid. The codes that will continue to apply post 16 and apply to the school census learning aims data are the old ones.