Spanish (5898)

FCSE Spanish helps students develop communication skills routinely acquired at levels of study equivalent to National Curriculum Levels 4, 5 or 6. The qualification bridges the gap between ELC and GCSE and is suitable for a wide age range, from KS2 to adult learners. There are three levels of award: Pass, Merit or Distinction.

FCSE covers all four language skills: Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing. There are also short course options available in Listening and Speaking or Reading and Writing.

Teachers choose which units to cover over one, two or even three years and send us a portfolio of evidence from three out of the eight units for moderation.

We provide externally-set, centre-assessed assignments in Listening and Reading. Teachers set and mark the Speaking and Writing assignments but we provide exemplar tasks for these skills which can be used without adaptation.

The assessment tasks are available on e-AQA in Secure Key Materials (SKM). They can be downloaded free of charge, then kept under secure storage so teachers have permanent access to plan lessons and prepare their students to take tests when they are ready.

This qualification can be used as a standalone accreditation or is ideal preparation for a GCSE in Spanish. GCSE Spanish counts towards the English Baccalaureate.

For certification in 2014 and beyond, students must submit three units from Sets A and B, available from e-AQA (SKM) only, for this revised specification.

FCSE is highly motivational for students and provides an ideal basis for progression to further study in languages.

FCSE will attract Performance Table Points until 2014 certification but will no longer do so from 2015.


Codes and references

Qualification type FCSE
Specification title Spanish
Specification code 5898
QAN codes 600/3155/4