Our Council of trustees

The Council is responsible for our overall strategy, policy, educational initiatives and development, and for steering AQA to fulfil its educational and charitable objectives. Trustees are drawn from various educational and business bodies to ensure a balance of skills and experience and serve for no more than three terms of three years.


Justin van Wijngaarden


Philippa Hird

Mark Bramwell

Sir Michael Griffiths

Grenville Jackson OBE

Elizabeth Kitcatt

Nadeem Kiyani

Sue Moore

Paul Nesbitt

Mike Nicholson

Jonathan Phillips

Professor Toby Salt

Jan E Smith

Jovan Trkulja

Martin Turner

Nigel Walkey