Technical Awards update: certification from 2019

Thursday 7 Sep 2017

Our approved Level 1/2 Technical Award in Performing Arts is now available.

Although they won’t be included in performance tables for 2019, we’re pleased to confirm that we’ll also be offering certification in the remaining nine awards, in their current form, for that series. We believe these are valuable qualifications and understand that many teachers are still keen to offer them to their students now.

These nine awards are:

  • Children's Learning and Development
  • Fashion and Textiles
  • Food and Catering
  • Health and Social Care
  • IT
  • Material Technology
  • Sport
  • STEM
  • Visual Communication.

The qualifications will be known as AQA Level 1/2 Awards. They are approved for Section 96 funding (meaning they can be offered in state-funded schools and colleges) but they will not count towards DfE performance tables in 2019.

We’ll accept submissions for the internally assessed units (units 1 and 2) in 2018 and will moderate these in the usual way. However, the first exam series (unit 3) and certification opportunity will be 2019.

In the meantime, we’re continuing to work with the Department for Education (DfE) to make the necessary changes for these qualifications to be included in performance tables from 2020 (however, we’re considering the future of our STEM qualification post-2019). If we’re successful, some amendments to content and assessment will be needed for teaching from 2018.

Specifications updated to reflect name change and exams dates will be on our website shortly.