TES Schools Awards 2015 shortlist announced

Tuesday 21 Apr 2015

We're delighted to be sponsoring the Secondary School of the Year award, for the second time, and to confirm the details of the eight schools who've made it to this year's short list.

The schools are:

  • Babington Community College, Leicester
  • Burnt Mill Academy Trust, Essex
  • North Chadderton School, Oldham
  • Royal Wootton Bassett Academy, Wiltshire
  • St Aidan's High School, North Lanarkshire
  • St Patrick's High School, County Armagh
  • St Thomas the Apostle College, London
  • Woolwich Polytechnic School, London

The Secondary School of the Year award recognises the teams that create outstanding places of learning where every student is given the chance to succeed.

Speaking about the award, Andrew Hall, AQA's Chief Executive, said: "We know that great teaching makes the difference to what students achieve, so we want to support teachers and help them give their students the best chance in life.

"The Secondary School of the Year award recognises the dedication and commitment of schools who demonstrate innovation and imagination in developing students.  AQA is committed to showcasing such excellence and that's why we're so proud to sponsor the award."

We're speaking to all the schools to find out what it means to them to be shortlisted, and we'll tell you all their stories over the next few weeks – so come back and find out more.