Skip to: History Qualifications

Loading the video...

Why AQA History?

We offer five History qualifications including: two GCSEs, our new Level 1/2 Certificate, Entry Level Certificate and A-level.

The two GCSEs offer schools, colleges and students the opportunity to study a range of periods from history in a variety of ways - with both national and international perspectives. The AQA Certificate in History is equivalent to a GCSE full course qualification and offers even more choice and flexibility.

The ELC certificate is on the first level of the National Qualification Framework. It is for candidates who are currently working below the level required to obtain a GCSE grade G.

Sign up for more free History resources, news, and updates

Our team

michael sharman"We're here to answer any questions you may have about our History specifications. Whether you are currently teaching or considering if our specifications are right for your students, our team of subject and assessment experts are here to support you.
"You will always get through to a dedicated and experienced History team - not a call centre. We speak to teachers every day, from every type of school and college, and are proud of the support we give."

Michael Charman, Qualifications Manager


We have never lost sight of what teachers want.

Michael Charman,
Qualifications Manager