Join

To join the Unit Award Scheme (UAS), you'll need to:

  1. complete a centre registration form
  2. attend a training meeting.

If your centre doesn't have a Department for Education or National Centre Number, you'll need to supply the following information on the registration form:

  • contact details of two referees we can approach (for your centre, not for the proposed UAS Co-ordinator)
  • website details or other published information where we can find out more about your centre
  • confirmation that your centre has a Child Protection Policy if working with young people under the age of 16.

Also, if you don't receive 100% Government funding, eg you are an independent centre rather than a mainstream school or academy, you'll need to complete the Credit Assessment Form (included in the registration form).

Forthcoming training meetings

DateVenue
Tuesday 19 June 2018 Leeds
Wednesday 18 July 2018 London
Thursday 27 September 2018London
Tuesday 9 October 2018Manchester
Thursday 1 November 2018York
Tuesday 27 November 2018London
Thursday 17 January 2019Birmingham
Tuesday 12 February 2019London
Thursday 7 March 2019Leeds
Tuesday 2 April 2019London
Thursday 2 May 2019Manchester
Tuesday 21 May 2019London
Thursday 13 June 2019Leeds
Tuesday 9 July 2019London

Please use our online booking system to book your place at UAS new centre training meetings. Please don't book onto a meeting with less than three working days' notice. Instead, book onto the next appropriate meeting for you on the list.

There is a fee for this training. See our fees page or contact us for further information.

We can also train you and your colleagues at your centre. If you'd like us to do this, email us with three dates that would work for you.

What the training covers

We'll cover:

  • how the UAS works
  • administration and assessment
  • how to find, amend and write units.

What happens after training

Once your centre registration has been approved and you've completed the training, you'll be invoiced for the one-off registration fee. We'll then send the materials you need to get started delivering units to your students.

Contact us when students have completed their first units, and we'll explain what you need to do to get the evidence checked before your certificates are issued.