CSE exams taken 1965-1987

Certificate of Secondary Education (CSE) exams were administered by regional exam boards between 1965 and 1987. We can only confirm CSE results taken with our predecessor boards.

Our predecessor boards

  • JMB – Joint Matriculation Board
  • NEAB – Northern Examinations and Assessment Board
  • NEA – Northern Examining Association
  • AEB – Associated Examining Board
  • SEG – Southern Examining Group
  • ALSEB – Association Lancashire Schools Examinations Board
  • NREB – North Regional Examinations Board
  • NWREB – North West Regional Examinations Board
  • TWYLREB – The West Yorkshire and Lindsey Regional Examinations Board
  • YHREB – Yorkshire and Humberside Regional Examinations Board
  • YREB – Yorkshire Regional Examinations Board
  • NWSSEB – North West Secondary Schools Examinations Board
  • SEREB – South Eastern Regional Examinations Board
  • SWREB – South West Regional Examinations Board.

Exam boards that hold CSE records – by region

Use the table below to see which exam boards now hold CSE records for exams taken between 1965 and 1987.

Original CSE board

Regions covered

Awarding organisation now holding records

Associated Lancashire Schools Exam Board

Metropolitan Districts of Bolton, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale and Salford and parts of Derbyshire. Also some Scottish schools.

AQA Manchester

Tel: 0800 197 7162  (or +44 203 671 8010 from outside the UK)

North Regional Examinations Board

Cleveland (part) Durham and Northumberland, Districts of Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

North West Regional Board

Cheshire, Lancashire, Isle of Man, Parts of Cumbria, the Metropolitan Districts of Knowsley, Liverpool, St Helens, Sefton, Wirral, Bury, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford, Warrington and Wigan. Also some Northern Ireland schools.

Yorkshire and Humberside Regional Examinations Board & The West Yorkshire and Lindsey Regional Exam Board

North Yorkshire and Humberside, Metropolitan Districts of Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, Sheffield, Leeds, Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees and Wakefield and parts of Cleveland, Lincolnshire, Dewsbury, Huddersfield, York, Halifax, Workington and Middlesborough. Also some Lincolnshire border areas.

South East/South West Regional Exam Board

East Sussex, Kent, Surrey, London Boroughs of Bexley, Bromley, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton, Avon, Cornwall, Devon, Gloucestershire, Exeter, Somerset and Wiltshire. Also some Middlesex and some West Sussex border areas.

Southern Regional Exams Board

Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Dorset, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire, West Sussex, Channel Islands and schools overseas.


Tel: 01223 553 998

East Midlands/West Midlands Exam Board

Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Hereford & Worcester, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Warwickshire and the districts of Grimsby, Birmingham, Coventry, Dudley, Sandwell, Solihull, Walsall and Wolverhampton.

London and East Anglian/London Regional/Metropolitan Exams/Middlesex Exams Boards.

The London Regional Board came from a merger between the Metropolitan and Middlesex Boards in 1979.

Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk, London Boroughs of Berking, Barnet, Brent, Bromley, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston, Merton, Newham, Richmond, Sutton, Redbridge and Waltham Forest.

Edexcel (Pearson)

Tel: 0845 618 0440

Welsh Joint Education Committee

All of Wales


Tel: 01222 575 994

CSE records held by us – by postcode

We hold CSE records for the following postcodes:

BA (Bath), BB (Blackburn), BD (Bradford), BL (Bolton), BN (Brighton), BS (Bristol), CA (Cumbria), CH (Chester), CT (Canterbury), CW (Crewe), DH (Durham), DL (Darlington), DN (Doncaster), EX (Exeter), FY (Fylde), GL (Gloucester), GU (Guildford), HD (Huddersfield), HG (Harrogate), HX (Halifax), IM (Isle of Man), KT (Kingston-upon-Thames), L (Liverpool), LA (Lancaster), LS (Leeds), M (Manchester), ME (Maidstone & Rochester), NE (Newcastle), OL, (Oldham), PL (Plymouth), PR (Preston), S (Sheffield), SK (Stockport), SN (Swindon), SP (Salisbury), SR (Sunderland), TA (Taunton), TN (Tonbridge), TQ (Torquay), TR (Truro), TS (Cleveland), WA (Warrington), WN (Wigan), YO (York).

Postcode area border changes

The following postcode areas have changed in recent years, meaning that records are split between us and another exam board.

If you live in one of the following postcode areas, please apply to both boards.

Border areas shared with Edexcel (Pearson)

  • BR (Bromley)
  • CR (Croydon)
  • DA (Dartford)
  • SM (Sutton)
  • TW (Richmond-upon-Thames, Middlesex)

Border areas shared with OCR

  • DE (Derby)
  • DT (Dorchester)
  • HU (Hull)
  • LN (Lincoln)
  • RH (Redhill)
  • SL (Slough)