Information for schools and colleges on standardising marking for controlled assessment, coursework or non-exam assessment.

Setting the standard

Schools and colleges must have consistent marking standards for all students.

We provide:

Internal standardisation

You must carry out internal standardisation according to the process described in the specification, and confirm this on the centre declaration sheet. Failure to do so could disadvantage some or all of your students.

Internal standardisation may involve:

  • all teachers marking some sample pieces of work, and identifying differences in marking standards
  • discussing any differences in marking at a training meeting for all teachers involved in the assessment
  • referring to relevant reference material, such as previous work or examples from our website
  • our teacher online standardisation system, T-OLS (available for most subjects).


Moderation is not designed to compare the marking of different teachers or assessors.

Centre feedback forms

We’ll let you know on the centre feedback form issued with results if there any issues were found during the moderation of your students' work. This includes:

  • a serious misinterpretation of the specification requirements
  • setting inappropriate work.

If a significant adjustment is made to your centre's marks, we’ll contact you in the autumn term to arrange standardisation.